She can’t stop writing until she finds the killer.

He can’t stop reading because the killer is him.

I was the girl who survived the Nothing Man. Now, I am the woman who is going to catch him.

You’ve just read the opening pages of The Nothing Man, the true crime memoir Eve Black has written about her obsessive search for the man who killed her family nearly two decades ago.

Supermarket security guard Jim Doyle is reading it too and with each turn of the page, his rage grows. Because Jim was – is – the Nothing Man.

The more Jim reads, the more he realises how dangerously close Eve is getting to the truth. He knows she won’t give up until she finds him. He has no choice but to stop her first…


Corvus Books (UK/Ireland)


A book within a book, and a character study with real depth, The Nothing Man takes the current obsession with true crime and amateur detectives and wraps it around a gripping plot to give us one of the summer’s most ingenious mysteries.

RTE Culture

Wonderful work.

Woman’s Way

The queen of high-concept crime fiction strikes again: this is the first novel I’ve read that really captures the chills and twists of the true crime that obsesses us. Catherine Ryan Howard has always been thrillingly good at what she does but she’s just getting better and better with every book.

Jane Casey

Such a clever idea – from concept to execution – I can’t think of another book like it. Tremendously astute and moving.

Sarah Hilary

I was truly blown away and couldn’t read it fast enough. I can’t shower it with enough praise. Terrifying, brilliantly plotted and extremely satisfying.

Jo Spain

Genuine edge-of-your-seat moments.

Stuart MacBride

OUT NOW


The Nothing Man is a compelling and considered crime thriller. More than just fodder for crime fiction fans, it is an astute examination of our problematic modern obsession with serial killers, and the importance of truth as well as thrills.

Sunday Times

The Nothing Man has the cool confidence of [Howard’s] previous books. Well-paced and intelligent, it’s a painstakingly crafted thriller that deserves to be a huge hit.”

Irish Independent

[A] fiendishly clever psychological thriller … Howard uses serial killer tropes in original and surprising ways in this tour de force.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Gripping, beautifully written, and genuinely chilling, The Nothing Man had me from page one. Simply stellar.

Meg Gardiner

Catherine Ryan Howard is one of the best Irish crime writers around.

Sinéad Crowley

Utterly compelling, completely original, The Nothing Man will be the standout novel for 2020. This is a book you won’t forget as Catherine Ryan Howard brings crime writing to a new level.

Sam Blake

Instead of a whodunit, [Howard] presents the reader with a devious cat and mouse game … and drives her plot forward with the steadiness of a BMW down a no speed limits autobahn, confirming her talent for the psychological thriller with a touch of class and strong characterisation. A definite winner.

CrimeTime.co.uk

Blackstone Publishing (USA)


A deftly blended composite of the serial killer, psychological thriller and true crime narratives … a compelling novel that brilliant deconstructs the genre’s cliches of the charming sociopath.

Irish Times

Brilliant! Massively gripping handling of a unique high-concept idea.

Sophie Hannah

Whipsmart, thrilling and utterly compelling.

Liz Nugent

The Nothing Man is the most original and chilling thriller I’ve read in a long time, and is perfect for fans of Serial and The Fall.

Mark Edwards

Expertly crafted – storytelling at its best.

Patricia Gibney

A book to steal your waking hours and haunt your sleeping ones. Chilling and brilliant.

Cass Green

An unputdownable thriller that’s not afraid to explore the darkest impulses of humanity. It’s also a compassionate study of grief and guilt. I dare you to read it on your own, in the dark.

Erin Kelly

 

OUT NOW