Thank You Vintage Books. Like, for Reals

21 Jan

You may recall that a couple of weeks ago I wrote a post entitled An Open Letter to Vintage Books in which I bemoaned the fact that my paperback copy of The Snowman by Jo Nesbo, published by Vintage, did not match my three other Nesbo paperbacks (Nemesis, The Devil’s Star and The Redeemer), despite them all being bought around the same time. And as a reader dedicated to the, ahem, sensitive collection of books let’s call it (as my blogging friend Emma Newman did), this annoyed me no end as up on my bookshelf, they wouldn’t match.

My Nesbo Collection: Before

Now although it does annoy me that the books don’t match I wasn’t crying about it – I do have some perspective, people! – and the post was a bit tongue in cheek. (A little bit.) I certainly didn’t expect anyone at Vintage to a) find it or b) take my postscript about having a root around the office for a matching Snowman for me any way seriously, although as I was writing it I thought, hey, wouldn’t it be nice – and funny – if they did.

(Not to mention the fact that I’d also be able to look at my bookshelves again without breaking out with a nervous sweat. But anyway.)

Mere hours after it was posted the lovely Alison Hennessey who is behind Vintage Books’ Twitter account asked me for my address – saying ‘I might have a little package for you…’ – and then this morning said package arrived in the post.

Well, it came by courier. Because it was big.

Now. Are you prepared for some truly amazing and way-beyond-the-call of duty loveliness?

Alison didn’t send me a Snowman to match my existing collection. She couldn’t because that cover design has been discontinued. So instead she sent me brand new copies of Nemesis, The Redeemer and The Devil’s Star to match my copy of The Snowman.

You’re thinking now, wow, that’s so nice of her! But it doesn’t end there.

She also sent me a copy of The Redbreast, which I didn’t have (because it was out of stock during my Nesbo bookstore spree) and – wait for it – a copy of his latest novel The Leopard, which is only out this week.

What?!

My Nesbo Collection: After

[Squeals!]

I mean, seriously.

Seriously.

How nice is that?

I’ll tell you: it is ridiculously nice. Like, for reals.

So thank you, thank you, thank you Alison (who said she could totally sympathize with my spine-mismatching pain – I’m not the only one!) and all at Vintage Books. I am so looking forward to cuddling up with all my Nesbos and then once they’re read, gazing at them adoringly for hours at a time.

Vintage: you totally rock, and all cover-changing is forgiven.

(Just don’t do it again, okay…?)

Follow Vintage Books on Twitter here or read my review of The Snowman here.

14 Responses to “Thank You Vintage Books. Like, for Reals”

  1. Emma Newman January 21, 2011 at 11:14 #

    WOW! Now that is above and beyond… if only the same fantastic response could happen regarding the closure of libraries.

    But seriously, kudos to you Vintage, that rocks :) And kudos to your tongue-in-cheekery Miss Catherine…

    • catherineryanhoward January 21, 2011 at 14:10 #

      It pays to fake complain, doesn’t it? Now if I could just find the time to read them all…
      :-)

  2. Andrea "The American Roommate" January 21, 2011 at 13:35 #

    Wow, that is amazing customer service! I do love how Twitter has opened up a whole new forum for service recovery opportunities.

    • catherineryanhoward January 21, 2011 at 14:11 #

      “Service recovery opportunities”?! How I love corporate America…! ;-D

      P.S. I still have nightmares about the S&D (or “D&T”!) “core values” you know….!

  3. Maria Staal January 21, 2011 at 14:43 #

    It’s great that you now have a matching set! Congratulations.

    I had the same ‘problem’ with my Harry Potter collection. One of the books was smaller in size then the other ones. Luckily, I found a larger copy (strangly enough, that wasn’t as easy as it sounds), so the balance is restored…

    • catherineryanhoward January 22, 2011 at 14:29 #

      Somehow I don’t think publishers take us Sensitive Book Collectors into consideration when they design books! ;-D

      I remember being SO ANNOYED when I was younger over Patricia Cornwell – I had loads of her original paperbacks, then they went to hardbacks, then they changed the hardbacks to a totally different jacket design. But then Cornwell started writing rubbish, so I didn’t have to worry about that for too long…!

  4. WriterMelS January 22, 2011 at 13:33 #

    Wow, that is truly fantastic! I love it when someone does something out of the goodness of their heart (and a co-ordinating book shelf).

    And what a lovely surprise too.

    Get stuck in!

    • catherineryanhoward January 22, 2011 at 14:31 #

      I know, I nearly keeled over on the postman when I saw it. Obviously I knew she was sending me something because she asked for my address but I honestly thought it was going to be a matching Snowman, which in itself would have been really nice – and funny!

      I now have 3 spare Jo Nesbos though – Redeemer, Nemesis and Devil’s Star – untouched and brand new, so if you want them Mel let me know! I’ll post them over. I have to pay forward Alison’s good deed! :-)

      • Jeffrey Gross July 29, 2012 at 06:55 #

        The problem is, his name isn’t Nesbo, it’s Nesbø. Two different letters. It’s surprising to me the author went along w/ that. As for Vintage, do they think we Americans are so freaked out by anything foreign we’d run from the books in a panic because of that ø? On the book design front, I miss the “newspaper cuttings” motif, which I thought really compelling.

        • Jeffrey Gross July 29, 2012 at 07:05 #

          My reference to the “newspaper cuttings motif” was inaccurate. Perhaps the now outmoded design should be referred to as “cut-out.” In any case, the author’s name aside, I find the new design somewhat generic.

        • catherineryanhoward July 29, 2012 at 11:12 #

          Jeffery these are the UK jackets.

          • Jeffrey Gross July 29, 2012 at 16:22 #

            Ah. Well, we have the same ones in the US. I still wonder why Vintage – nice as they are – decided to circumcise poor Mr. Nesbø’s final o.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Thank You Vintage Books. Like, for Reals « Catherine, Caffeinated -- Topsy.com - January 21, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andy Holgate, CatherineRyanHoward. CatherineRyanHoward said: Today's post: Vintage Books win prize for Best Thing to Arrive in Post Ever http://wp.me/pK3Dz-1nI (@vintagebooks Thank you!!!) […]

  2. When Blurbs Go Bad: THE DROP by Michael Connelly « Catherine, Caffeinated - November 14, 2011

    […] across the Irish Sea in the UK. I don’t get why.) Since, as regular readers will know, my books have to match, I’ve been buying Connelly’s US hardbacks from The Book Depository ever since, where […]

Ah, go on. Tell me what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: